An Xbox broadcast to celebrate Bethesda joining the company will be aired today, but it won’t focus on providing news or revealing projects. It will likely also feature announcements of new Bethesda games joining Xbox Game Pass.The broadcast is titled ‘Bethesda Joins Xbox – Roundtable’, and is scheduled for 10am Pacific / 1pm Eastern / 6pm UK on YouTube today. The video description reads: “A conversation with key leaders celebrating Bethesda joining Team Xbox.”

Xbox head of marketing, Aaron Greenberg has made clear that “this is NOT FOCUSED ON NEWS/REVEALS, but a great chance to learn more about the teams & people at Bethesda.” [Greenberg’s Emphasis]The broadcast follows Microsoft’s official acquisition of ZeniMax, which turned eight Bethesda developers into first-party Microsoft studios. In that initial announcement, Head of Xbox Phil Spencer promised further Bethesda games would be added to Xbox Game Pass later this week to celebrate – it’s likely those will be announced during the broadcast.

We may not learn quite as much about Microsoft’s plans for Bethesda studios, however. Spencer previously explained that more news about how Xbox’s new teams will work is coming “later this year”. Spencer has previously explained that Microsoft legally could not address plans with Bethesda until the acquisition was complete, so discussions may still be in the early stages.

One thing we do know is that “some” future Bethesda games will be Xbox & PC exclusive after the acquisition. “With the addition of the Bethesda creative teams,” Spencer wrote earlier this week, “gamers should know that Xbox consoles, PC, and Game Pass will be the best place to experience new Bethesda games, including some new titles in the future that will be exclusive to Xbox and PC players.”

Developing…





Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here