Last year’s BlizzCon was postponed as the pandemic made it unsafe for Blizzard to hold its usual celebratory gathering at the Anaheim Convention Center. This month it returns, rebranded as BlizzConline, a completely digital event where fans can gather and celebrate their favorite games virtually. It’s also a momentous occasion – Blizzard will be celebrating its 30th anniversary – and if you don’t want to miss it, here’s everything you need to know to join in.

BlizzCon 2021 Dates and Time

BlizzCon 2021 (or BlizzConline) will take place on February 19 and 20. On the first day, the show lasts for about 4 hours, kicking off at 2pm PT/5pm ET/10pm GMT and ending around 6pm PT/9pm ET/2am GMT. On day two, the show starts earlier and lasts a smidge longer, picking back up at 12pm PT/3pm ET/8pm GMT and ending at 4:40pm PT/7:30pm ET/12:30am GMT.

BlizzCon Start Times

Day One

  • 2pm PT
  • 5pm ET
  • 10pm GMT

Day Two

  • 12pm PT
  • 3pm ET
  • 8pm GMT

How to Watch BlizzCon 2021

Unlike prior BlizzCons, everyone will be able to watch this year’s show from home for free. Yes, that means you don’t need to purchase any tickets. We’ll be hosting the BlizzConline stream here, the IGN homepage, and on all of our social channels, apps, and more. Here’s the full list of places you can watch BlizzCon 2021 with us:

BlizzCon 2021 Schedule

As usual, you can view the full BlizzConline schedule on the official website. The show is split up across six channels, each with a name based on the content that will be primarily shown there.

  • Blizzard: On the first day, this will mostly feature newsy panels regarding Blizzard’s main games. On the second day, a Critical Role Diablo campaign.
  • World of Warcraft: Every World of Warcraft panel, including What’s Next, Deep Dive, Making of the Wandering Ancient Mount, Voices of the Afterlife, Q&A, The Evolution of Thrall, and Cooking Workshop.
  • Hearthstone: Every Hearthstone panel, including Deep Dive, Battlegrounds Exhibition, Q&A, a Blizzard Art Studio on Reno Jackson, Streamer Showdown, and Bartender Bob’s Advice.
  • Diablo: Every Diablo panel, including What’s Next, The Voice of Deckard Cain, Developer Roundtable, The Gothic World of Brom, Deep Dive, Q&A, and Artists at Work: Diablo Hive Mother Part 1 and Part 2.
  • Overwatch: Every Overwatch panel, including Behind the Scenes of Overwatch 2, The Voices of Overwatch, Creating a Soundtrack, Overwatch League: Shock vs. The World, Community-Made Creations in the Workshop, Overwatch League: Crafts with Soe, and a Blizzard Art Studio on Roadhog.
  • Strategy: Starts off as a channel for StarCraft Legends esports and then has a potpourri of panels including Where It All Started: Blizzard’s Early Years, Where It All Started: Blizzard’s Early Years, Artists at Work: CarBot Animation, a Blizzard Art Studio on Tracer followed up by another on Margrave Krexus.

Every channel will broadcast a virtual “march of the Murlocs” and a community showcase on the second day.

BlizzCon 2021 Panels To Watch and What To Expect

If you’re looking to hear news about your favorite Blizzard games, you’ll definitely want to catch the following panels:

  • World of Warcraft: What’s Next
  • Diablo: What’s Next
  • Behind the Scenes of Overwatch 2

They all air at the same time, but the main channel will feature re-broadcasts of Diablo and Overwatch 2, in the case you want to watch them all. Otherwise, we suggest tuning into the broadcast you’re most excited about so you can watch any potential news live.

As for what kind of news to expect, we know of a few things thanks to some announcements made ahead of the show. The CEO of Blizzard, Bobby Kotick, confirmed multiple Warcraft-inspired mobile experiences are in advanced development so it’s possible we’ll get a look at those. Diablo Immortal could make an appearance as well, even if Activision-Blizzard shared during its earnings call that it’s not in the projections for the year.

In that same earnings call, Activision-Blizzard announced it has no plans of launching Overwatch 2 or Diablo 4 in 2021, but that doesn’t mean we won’t be getting updates on them. Jeff Kaplan announced an Overwatch 2 update was planned for BlizzConline in a developer update. We’re also due for a quarterly update on Diablo IV so it’s possible we’ll get that at the show.
[poilib element=”accentDivider”]



Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here